Community Development Corporation

Phone: (215) 222-2070

STEP Community Development Corporation

Mr. Jeffrey Brown, Program Director | Ms. Frances Upshaw, Acting President

Education Program:

The mission of the STEP CDC education program is to provide school-aged children k-12, a safe environment as well as engaging educational opportunities afterschool and during the summer. It is also to augment the learning of adults in order to help them become college and career ready, thereby making them assets to their community.

Recovery Program:

The mission of the STEP CDC recovery program is to support individuals and families in the Belmont community through programs that raise awareness about the connection between substance abuse and limited life options. It helps individuals and families prevent and recover from substance abuse. 

Housing Program: 

The mission of the STEP CDC housing program is to evaluate disparities in available housing for residents within the Belmont community and to assist them in gaining affordable housing in a secure environment.

MONDAY PROGRAMS AT STEP-CDC (October 1, 2012 - June 30, 2013):

09:00am - 09:55am
Relapse Prevention, Recovery & Goal Planning
Jeffery Brown(CCHSS/Cal-St.Aug)
10:00am - 10:55am
Computer Training
JaRonBennett (OIC)
11:00am - 11:25am
Crisis Management
Jeffery Brown (CCHSS/Cal-St.Aug)
11:30am - 11:55am

12:00pm - 12:25pm
Pre-GED Readiness
Science mini-lesson
Elwood Collins (Cal-St.Aug)
12:30pm - 12:55pm
Pre-GED Readiness
Math mini-lesson
Jeffery Brown (CCHSS/Cal-St.Aug)
01:00pm - 01:30pm
Pre-GED Readiness
Social studies/ELA mini-lesson
Wesley Brown (Cal-St.Aug)
Schedule is subject to change


Dr. Yaalieth "Yali" Simpson, EdD, LMSW
Consultant, STEP Community Development Corporation

Miss. Simpson's Cell: (212) 614-0433
STEP CDC Landline: (215) 222-2070
STEP CDC at the Calvary St Augustine Episcopal Church (Founded 1864)
814 North 41st St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-4813

Email us for:

 More Info 

For more reading:

 Where It All Began 

Board Members: Frances Upshaw, Acting President; Lillian Anne Randolph, Secretary; Mary Jackson, Treasurer; Brenda Belton; Alice Briscoe Brown; Wesley Brown, Jr.; Sandra McFadden Brown; Jeffrey Brown; Deacon Robert Davidson; Kathleen Williams